Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

SMOL: Drunk Poem Animation Virtual Watch Party!

Virtual Event Virtual Event

March 26 5:00 pm 5:30 pm EDT

In support of the terrific and truly independent SMOL FAIR, DrunkSkull Books and the Dead Bird Gang are proud to offer up a drunk poem animation watch party!

Saturday, March 26, 2022
2pm – 2:30pm Pacific
3pm – 3:30pm Mountain
4pm – 4:30pm Central
5pm – 5:30pm Eastern
(Apologies to our European friends for the late hour!)

It’s an early salvo in what promises to be a years-long campaign to create animations for all of the poems from A DEEP & GORGEOUS THIRST. From rotoscoping to traditional 2D animation to claymation, the poems are brought to life by animators and narrators the world over!

We’ll start with the PREMIER of our latest animated poem, THIRST #125, followed by a deeper dive into the actual production of it — to include sharing both the original storyboards and nuts-and-bolts of our basic process. With any luck, it might get fellow writers and presses dreaming bigger, and thinking further outside their promotional boxes when banging the drum for their own projects!

That will be followed by a handful of other animated drunk poems:
THIRST #3 – Tina LaTurner-McCreesh/Romana Vashtar (0:33)
THIRST #26 – Ben Tanzer/MusicAnimation (1:25)
THIRST #28 – Bastien Chiarini/stoniends (with music by the mighty Leeches of Lore!) (0:58)
THIRST #50 – Walevske Perez-Herrera/Tharinda Dharmasena (1:22)
THIRST #140 – Willy Vlautin/Mattia Adorni (1:45)

We’ll close with a brief chat/Q&A.

Organizer

DrunkSkull Books
Email:
drunkskullbooks@gmail.com
Website:
View Organizer Website